Countdown to the 2019 Men’s World Teams

The WSF Men’s World Team Squash Championships is just around the corner, continuing a 50-plus-year tradition that began in 1967 in Melbourne, Australia.

We’ll be counting down to this year’s event in Washington DC – the first to be staged in the USA – with more memories from previous events … stay tuned !

#6: 1977, Here come Pakistan

The 1997 event took place in Toronto and Ottawa and featured 8 teams playing a round robin. It was Pakistan who claimed a first title, winning on countback over New Zealand and Egypt while the North Americans, possibly due to their preference for hardball, finished at the bottom.

Pakistan aren’t playing in Washington, but as we’ll see in the next speeded up countdown, this victory was the start of an impressive run …

#5: 1976, Great Britain end Aussie grip on the title

Hosts Great Britain, after four second-place finishes, finally take the title as they come top of a ten-team, two-pool format.

#4: 1973, Same again for new-look Aussies in RSA

Held in Johannesburg, South Africa, Australia fielded a new team in this fourth edition but still finished on top to make it four out of four with Great Britain once again second, and newcomers USA last.

#3: 1971, Hat-Trick for Australia

The 1971 championships were held in New Zealand with 7 teams. For the third time in a row the Australian team won, and with the same four players with which they won earlier championships – Geoff Hunt first among them. Great Britain, Pakistan and Eqypt followed.

#2: 1969, Australia retain in the Midlands

The 1969 event was played in several cities around the Midlands of England , but it was Australia who triumphed again, with the same four players as in the first event – and Egypt were last (of six).

Note: United Arab Republic was a political union between Egypt and Syria from 1958 to 1961, but Egypt was still officially known as that until 1971.

#1: 1967, Australia win the First World Teams

The home team went away the inaugural Champions, followed by Great Britain and New Zealand.